Eclipse 2024

An artistic representation of a solar eclipse as seen from space. (Credit: Getty Images/burudaki)

A spectacular and extremely rare cosmic phenomenon will take place on the afternoon of Monday, April 8, 2024… A total solar eclipse! The eclipse will be visible from most of North America. However, one region in particular, known as the path of totality, will be treated to the particularly rare and spectacular total phase of the eclipse. And the Mont-Mégantic Observatory is right in the middle of this path of totality!

What is an eclipse?

In its broadest sense, an eclipse is an astronomical phenomenon that occurs when a celestial object hides another celestial object in space from the view of an observer. For us humans, this implies an alignment between the Earth, the Moon, and the Sun.

During a lunar eclipse, visible during the night and quite frequent, the Earth finds itself between the Sun and the Moon. Since the Moon shines mainly by reflecting the Sun’s light, it appears darker when the Earth blocks this light. During a total lunar eclipse, the Moon takes on a reddish appearance (blood moon). This is caused by a phenomenon related to atmospheric refraction.

A diagram explaining the difference between a lunar eclipse (top) and a solar eclipse (bottom). (Credit: Getty Images/in8finity, adapted by Let’s Talk Science!)

During a solar eclipse, visible during the day for only part of the Earth’s population at any one time, the Moon comes between the Sun and the Earth. The Moon blocks the Sun and casts a shadow on the Earth’s surface. During a total eclipse, the Moon completely blocks out the Sun for a period of a few minutes, known as totality.

Are eclipses rare?

Since the celestial objects involved in our eclipses move in well-understood orbits, these phenomena recur at predictable, but not absolutely constant, intervals. While eclipses occur every year on Earth in general, they are much rarer for a specific location on the planet’s surface!

The last total solar eclipse visible in Quebec was in 1972. The last one visible in southern Quebec was in 1963. If you’re planning to miss the eclipse on April 8, 2024, and see the next one visible in southern Quebec, you’ll have to wait until… 2106!

When and where can I observe the eclipse on April 8, 2024?

A map of southern Quebec showing the regions where the solar eclipse on April 8, 2024 will be partial and total. (Credit: G. Poulin/ASTROLab du Mont-Mégantic)

A 99% partial eclipse is a completely different experience from a total solar eclipse. It’s not 99% as good! We therefore strongly recommend, if possible, that you find your way to the path of totality to enjoy this incredible phenomenon.

The start and end times of each phase of the eclipse will be slightly different depending on your location. At the Mont-Mégantic, the partial eclipse will begin at 2:18 pm. Totality will take place between 3:28 pm and 3:32 p.m. These 3 minutes and 28 seconds may seem short, but they will be a life-changing moment for spectators! The partial eclipse will end at 4:39 pm. To find out approximate times for your location, visit the Éclipse Québec website.

For public safety reasons, access to the summit of Mont-Mégantic will be highly restricted during the solar eclipse on April 8, 2024. We cannot accommodate requests for public access on this day. Our friends at the Mont-Mégantic ASTROLab are organising a public event at the foot of the mountain, which requires the purchase of tickets. A number of events and gatherings will be taking place throughout southern Quebec, so you can experience this cosmic spectacle with other space enthusiasts!

How can I observe the eclipse on April 8, 2024?

A composite image showing the different phases of a total solar eclipse. Only the phase of totality (centre image) can be safely observed with the naked eye. (Credit: Justin Ng)

We can afford to repeat the old adage again… Never look directly at the Sun! The only exception to this golden rule is during the TOTAL phase of a solar eclipse. During this brief moment, and ONLY this moment, you can look at the directly Sun with your naked eye without hurting your eyes.

At all other times, it’s essential to use specialised equipment that blocks the vast majority of the Sun’s light, allowing you to observe it safely. The tool of choice during a solar eclipse is a pair of eclipse glasses. A normal pair of sunglasses is not adequate protection! It’s very important to ensure that your eclipse glasses come from a reliable, compliant manufacturer, and that they are certified with the ISO 12312-2 mark. Eclipse glasses are already a rare commodity, so get your pair quickly! You’ll find a list of selected outlets on the Éclipse Québec website.

It’s also possible to observe a solar eclipse indirectly, by projection. Basically, you need two surfaces: one to serve as an observation screen, and the other to drill a tiny hole, a pinhole, through which only a few rays of light can pass. The famous shoebox is an example of indirect observation. The classic support is a shoebox or cereal box, but even simpler methods can be employed, as long as they follow the right basic principle. Building a solar observation box can be a fun, creative and scientific activity. Follow the instructions on the Canadian Space Agency website!

For more information

Éclipse 2024

Une représentation artistique d’une éclipse solaire vue de l’espace. (Crédit: Getty Images, buradaki)

Un phénomène cosmique spectaculaire et rarissime prendra place l’après-midi du lundi, 8 avril 2024… Une éclipse solaire totale! Cette éclipse sera visible à partir d’une grande partie de l’Amérique du Nord. Cependant, une région en particulier, nommée la bande de totalité, aura droit à la phase totale de l’éclipse qui est particulièrement rare et spectaculaire. Et l’Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic se retrouve au milieu de cette bande de totalité!

Qu’est-ce qu’une éclipse?

Dans son sens large, une éclipse est un phénomène astronomique qui se produit quand un objet céleste cache un autre astre dans l’espace, au regard d’un observateur. Pour nous, les humains, ceci implique un alignement entre la Terre, la Lune et le Soleil.

Lors d’une éclipse lunaire, visible durant la nuit et assez fréquente, la Terre se retrouve entre le Soleil et la Lune. Puisque la Lune brille principalement en réflétant la lumière du Soleil, elle apparaît plus sombre lorsque la Terre bloque cette lumière. Lors d’une éclipse lunaire totale, la Lune prend une apparence rougeâtre (lune de sang). Ceci est causée par un phénomène de réfraction atmosphérique.

Un diagramme expliquant la différence entre une éclipse lunaire (haut) et une éclipse solaire (bas). (Crédit: Getty Images/in8finity, adapté par Parlons Sciences!)

Lors d’une éclipse solaire, visible durant le jour et seulement pour une partie de la population terrestre à la fois, la Lune se retrouve entre le Soleil et la Terre. La Lune se retrouve à bloquer le Soleil et projette une ombre sur la surface de la Terre. Lors d’une éclipse totale, la Lune bloque entièrement le Soleil lors d’une période de quelques minutes qui s’appelle la totalité.

Est-ce rare?

Puisque les objets célestes impliqués dans nos éclipses se déplacent sur des orbites bien comprises, ces phénomènes se reproduisent à des intervalles prévisibles, mais pas absolument constants. Si des éclipses se produisent à chaque année sur Terre en général, elles sont beaucoup plus rares pour un endroit spécifique à la surface de la planète!

La dernière éclipse solaire totale qui était visible au Québec date de 1972. La dernière visible au sud du Québec date de 1963. Si vous planifiez manquer l’éclipse du 8 avril 2024 en prévoyant voir la prochaine qui sera visible au sud du Québec, vous devriez attendre jusqu’en… 2106!

Où et quand observer l’éclipse du 8 avril 2024?

Une carte du sud du Québec montrant les régions où l’éclipse solaire du 8 avril 2024 sera partielle et totale. (Crédit: G. Poulin/ASTROLab du Mont-Mégantic)

Une éclipse partielle à 99% est une expérience complètement différente d’une éclipse solaire totale. Ce n’est pas 99% aussi bon! Nous vous conseillons donc, dans la mesure du possible, de vous déplacer vers la bande de totalité afin de profiter de ce phénomène incroyable.

Les heures de début et de fin de chaque phase de l’éclipse seront légèrement différentes selon votre emplacement. Au Mont-Mégantic, l’éclipse partielle débutera à 14h18. La totalité aura lieu entre 15h28 et 15h32; ces 3 minutes 28 secondes peuvent sembler courtes, mais elles seront un moment marquant dans la vie des spectateurs qui en profiteront! L’éclipse partielle prendra fin à 16h39. Afin de savoir des heures approximatives pour votre emplacement, consultez le site web de regroupement Éclipse Québec.

Pour des raisons de sécurités publiques, l’accès au sommet du Mont-Mégantic sera très restricté lors de l’éclipse solaire du 8 avril 2024. Nous ne pouvons pas accommoder de demandes d’accès par le public lors de cette journée. Nos amis à l’ASTROLab du Mont-Mégantic organise un événement public au pied de la montagne qui nécessite l’achat de billets. Plusieurs événements et rassemblements auront lieu partout au sud du Québec afin de vous permettre de vivre ce spectacle cosmique parmi d’autres amateurs de l’espace!

Comment observer une éclipse solaire en toute sécurité?

Une image composée démontrant les phases différentes d’une éclipse solaire totale. Seule la phase de totalité (image au centre) peut être observé à l’oeil nu en toute sécurité. (Crédit: Justin Ng)

On peut se permettre de répéter le refrain… Il ne faut jamais regarder le Soleil directement! La seule exception à cette règle d’or est lors de la phase TOTALE d’une éclipse solaire. Pendant ce court moment et SEULEMENT ce moment, vous pouvez regarder vers le Soleil sans vous blessez les yeux.

À tout autre moment, il est essentiel d’utiliser de l’équipement spécialisé qui bloque la grande majorité de la lumière du Soleil, vous permettant de l’observer en toute sécurité. L’outil de prédilection lors d’une éclipse solaire est donc une paire de lunettes d’éclipse. Il est très important de s’assurer que vos lunettes proviennent d’un manufacturier fiable et conforme, et que vos lunettes soient certifiés avec le sigle ISO 12312-2. Les lunettes d’éclipse sont déjà une denrée rare, donc procurez-vous votre paire rapidement! Vous trouverez une liste de certains points de vente sur le site web du regroupement Éclipse Québec.

Il est aussi possible d’observer une éclipse solaire de manière indirecte, par projection. En principe, vous avez besoin de deux surfaces : une pour servir d’écran d’observation, et l’autre pour y percer un tout petit trou, un sténopé, qui ne laisse passer que quelques rayons de lumière. La fameuse boîte à chaussures est un exemple de moyen d’observation indirect. Le support classique est une boîte à chaussures ou une boîte de céréales, mais des méthodes encore plus simples peuvent être employées, tant qu’elles suivent le bon principe fondamental. Construire une boîte d’observation du Soleil peut être une activité créative et scientifique amusante. Suivez les consignes sur le site de l’Agence spatiale canadienne!

Pour plus d’informations