Gemini Planet Imager

Close-up photo of the Gemini Planet Imager currently located at the Gemini South Observatory in Cerro Pachon. Credit: J. Chilcote.
Technical Specifications
Instrument Name Gemini Planet Imager
Acronym GPI
First Light November 2013
Wavelength Range 0.9 - 2.5 microns (infrared)
Instrument Type High contrast imager
Status On loan at the University of Notre Dame from the Gemini-South Observatory

The Gemini Planet Imager captured its first light image, showing a narrow ring of dust around the young star HR4796A. This ring likely contains dust remnants from planet formation, and some suggest it may be shaped by an unseen planet. The left image displays normal light, including the dust ring and starlight scattered by Earth’s atmosphere. The right image reveals only polarized light, eliminating unpolarized starlight and highlighting strongly polarized light from the disk’s back edge.
Credit: Processing by M. Perrin, STScI.

The Gemini Planet Imager (GPI) is an instrument capable of detecting infrared light emitted by giant gas planets, similar to Jupiter, that are orbiting their star, much like the gas giant planets in our Solar System were when it formed. GPI has a very advanced technology for imaging exoplanets. It is optimised for the study of faint planets close to their star, for the study of their atmosphere, and for the study of debris disks present around these stars. GPI also has a spectroscopic mode that allows the study of planets in more detail. It has been installed t the Gemini-South Observatory in Chile, one of the largest telescopes in the world, since 2014.

GPI is an international project under the scientific leadership of Bruce Macintosh and Project Director David Palmer, both at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL). The optical design, construction, and testing of the spectrograph that makes up the instrument were carried out by the team led by Prof. James Larkin of the Infrared Laboratory at the University of California at Los Angeles, in very close collaboration with OMM Director René Doyon. The staff of the Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic, the Institut national d’optique in Quebec City and the company Immervision in Montreal also participated in the development of the spectrograph.

Gemini Planet Imager

Photo en gros plan de l’imageur de planètes Gemini actuellement situé à l’observatoire Gemini Sud à Cerro Pachon. Crédit : J. Chilcote
Spécifications techniques
Nom de l’instrument Gemini Planet Imager
Sigle GPI
Première lumière Novembre 2013
Domaine spectrale 0,9 à 2,5 microns (infrarouge)
Type d’instrument Imageur à haut contraste
Imageur à grand champ Prêté à l'Université de Notre-Dame par l'Observatoire Gemini-Sud

L’imageur de planètes Gemini a capturé sa première image lumineuse, montrant un anneau étroit de poussière autour de la jeune étoile HR4796A. Cet anneau contient probablement des restes de poussière provenant de la formation d’une planète, et certains suggèrent qu’il pourrait être formé par une planète invisible. L’image de gauche montre la lumière normale, y compris l’anneau de poussière et la lumière des étoiles diffusée par l’atmosphère terrestre. L’image de droite ne montre que la lumière polarisée, éliminant la lumière stellaire non polarisée et mettant en évidence la lumière fortement polarisée provenant du bord arrière du disque. Crédit: Traitement par M. Perrin, STScI.

L’imageur GPI (Gemini Planet Imager) est un instrument capable de détecter la lumière infrarouge émise par des planètes gazeuses géantes, semblables à Jupiter, qui sont en orbite autour de leur étoile, un peu comme l’étaient les planètes géantes gazeuses de notre Système solaire lors de sa formation. GPI dispose d’une technologie très avancée pour l’imagerie d’exoplanètes. Il est optimisé pour l’étude des planètes de faible luminosité proches de leur étoile, pour l’étude de leur atmosphère et pour l’étude des disques de débris présents autour de ces étoiles. GPI dispose aussi d’un mode spectroscopique qui permet d’étudier plus en détail les planètes. Il est installé à l’Observatoire Gemini-Sud au Chili, l’un des plus grands télescopes au monde, depuis 2014.

GPI est un projet international mené sous la direction scientifique de Bruce Macintosh et du directeur de projet David Palmer, tous deux du Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. La conception optique, la construction et les tests du spectrographe composant l’instrument ont été réalisés grâce à l’équipe dirigée par le professeur James Larkin du laboratoire infrarouge de l’Université de Californie à Los Angeles, en collaboration très étroite avec notre directeur René Doyon. Le personnel de l’Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic, de l’Institut national d’optique à Québec et la compagnie Immervision de Montréal ont également participé au développement du spectrographe.